Work Boots

The latest addition to my collection is this work boot – another custom that I helped design and I’m extremely pleased with how it turned out. When Todd and I were planning the Fall assortment for Unionmade, we knew that a true work boot had to be in the mix and nothing says work more than the wedge sole. Flipping through the leather swatches, we all kept landing on the pebbled bison for it’s texture and supple feel. We decided on the Trubalance last for a great fit and perfect toe shape and flat, all-around welt completes the package with a clean line and just a bit of contrast.

As with every pair of custom Aldens, opening the box can be a surprise. The way all the components come together is sometimes different than what you may have been expecting. We originally specified brass eyelets on the boot and it came back with painted ones. I don’t know if that was due to communication error or Alden making an executive decision, but I am actually glad they are the way they are. Looking at the boot as a whole, I think brass would have been too much.

This is my first pair of boots with the Goodyear wedge sole so I was not sure what to expect in the comfort department. I had them on all day at the shop yesterday and I had a smile on my face the whole time. My co-worker Alex also bought a pair (his first Aldens!) and wore them all day and he too was quite impressed with the comfort.

I think we nailed it with this one.





Available in limited quantities at Unionmade

About TheAgatineEyelet

Obsessed with Alden
This entry was posted in It's in the Details. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Work Boots

  1. Tuce says:

    Awesome boots, and loving the selvage. What kind of jeans are those?

  2. andy says:

    Hi, I ordered the reverse chamois walkers from Union Made and I was wondering how I should care for them. What do you recommend?

    • You won’t need to do much for a while other than brushing them off. If they start to seem like they are drying out, a little neutral shoe cream ought to do the trick

      • andy says:

        Thanks for the tip. The shoes are great! My first pair with a crepe sole, and they are the most comfortable pair of shoes I’ve ever had!

  3. tito says:

    Just got a pair of these myself. Absolutely love the boots. Not so in love with the sole though. Do you think Alden would resole them with a double leather or neoprene sole if I sent them in for restoration and asked really nicely?

    • Glad you like them!
      Yes, Alden will put any of their soles on the boots. I would wait a while before doing it though… I’ve heard they don’t like putting new soles on shoes that don’t need them yet.

  4. Sangsouvanh says:

    These look superb. Love the plain toe with the wedge sole. Also have you seen this collaboration? http://www.selectism.com/news/wp-comments-post.php

Leave a Reply

